About the NE-DBIC

The Northeast Dairy Business Innovation Center is one of four regional USDA Dairy Business Innovation Initiatives (DBII) in the nation.

Established as part of the 2018 Farm Bill, the Dairy Business Innovation Initiative was created to support dairy businesses in the development, production, marketing and distribution of dairy products.  

Hosted by the Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets, the NE-DBIC funds the development of direct technical assistance, contracts, and grants that benefit dairy businesses, including niche dairy products such as specialty cheese and other products derived from cow, goat, and sheep milk.

four jersey cows on pasture

Our Mission & Vision

Our mission is to create resiliency and long-term sustainability for Northeast dairy businesses.   

We envision a regional dairy system where dairy farms and processors enjoy viable and healthy businesses that benefit the land, livestock, community, and our regional economy.

assortment of cheeses on white wooden table and pale blue table cloth

To date, $45.8 million has been awarded to the NE-DBIC for projects extending through 2026.  

Past and current projects have offered health and safety training, marketing strategies, grazing transition support, technical assistance, community networks, and industry training to project recipients and interested region constituents. 

With a specific focus on regional dairy, the USDA selected four sites across the country to be regional hosts for the initiative: 

Meet the NE-DBIC Team


Laura Ginsburg

Laura Ginsburg, Center Lead

laura.ginsburg@vermont.gov
(802) 522-2252

Kathryn Donovan

Kathryn Donovan, Program Manager

kathryn.donovan@vermont.gov
(802) 585-4571

Rebecca Brockett

Rebecca Brockett, Contracts & Grants Administrator

rebecca.brockett@vermont.gov
(802) 636-7016

Ben Eldredge

Ben Eldredge, Grants Coordinator

ben.eldredge@vermont.gov
(802) 522-9478

Ali Boochever

Ali Boochever, Grants Coordinator

ali.boochever@vermont.gov
(802) 261-5740

Katie Spring

Katie Spring, Outreach & Content Specialist

katie.spring@vermont.gov
(802) 522-3186

Scroll to Top